Business News

Equal Justice Works Names 2008 Public Interest Law Leaders

2008-08-04 09:00:00

Equal Justice Works Names 2008 Public Interest Law Leaders

    WASHINGTON, Aug. 4 /EMWNews/ -- Equal Justice Works today

announced this year's recipients of its annual awards for outstanding

contributions to the field of public interest law.

    Former Senator George Mitchell ( will

receive the Scales of Justice Award for his personal commitment to public

service throughout his career. Sen. Mitchell remained dedicated to public

service at home and abroad during his service as the U.S. Attorney for the

state of Maine, as a U.S. District Court Judge, and later as U.S. Senator

and Majority Leader. Today, as Partner and Chairman of the Global Board at

DLA Piper, Sen. Mitchell is devoted to inspiring the next generation of

lawyers to do pro bono or public service work.

    Other honorees include Harvard University School of Law Dean Elena

Kagan ( and Georgetown University Law

Center Professor Philip Schrag



    Dean Kagan will receive the 2008 Dean John R. Kramer Outstanding Law

School Dean Award for her innovative, strategic approach to promoting

public service among law students. Since becoming dean of Harvard Law

School in 2003, Dean Kagan has added programs and increased institutional

support to ensure that every law student has experience working on behalf

of an underserved community. Dean Kagan implemented a mandatory pro bono

program, increased the size of the Office of Public Interest Advising, and

created a revolutionary tuition-waiver program.

    As the recipient of the Outstanding Law School Faculty Award, Professor

Schrag is being recognized for his two decades of advocacy for loan

repayment assistance for public interest lawyers and other graduates who

enter public service. Last year Congress passed the College Cost Reduction

& Access Act, thanks in part to his efforts. Professor Schrag also created

and directed the Center for Applied Legal Studies for more than 25 years.

    Senator Mitchell and Dean Kagan will be honored at the 2008 Equal

Justice Works Awards Dinner on October 16. Professor Schrag will be

recognized at the 2008 Equal Justice Works Awards Luncheon on October 10.

For more information on these events, please visit

Major Newsire & Press Release Distribution with Basic Starting at only $19 and Complete OTCBB / Financial Distribution only $89

Get Unlimited Organic Website Traffic to your Website now offers Organic Lead Generation & Traffic Solutions

Blake Masterson

Freelance Writer, Journalist and Father of 5

Related Articles

Back to top button