Business NewsPolitical News

RNC Chairman Announces Officers for the 2008 Republican National Convention

2008-08-06 10:22:00

RNC Chairman Announces Officers for the 2008 Republican National Convention

    WASHINGTON, Aug. 6 /EMWNews/ -- Republican National

Committee (RNC) Chairman Robert M. "Mike" Duncan today announced the

principal officers for the 2008 Republican National Convention.


    "I greatly appreciate the service and participation of the 2008

Republican National Convention officers, who will ensure that the

Convention proceedings, particularly the nominations of Senator John McCain

and his vice presidential nominee, are conducted under the great traditions

and the rules of our Party this September in St. Paul, Minn.," Duncan said.

    U.S. House Republican Leader John Boehner of Ohio will serve as

Permanent Chairman of the Convention. Congressman Boehner was elected to

represent the 8th Congressional District of Ohio for a ninth term in

November 2006. He continues to be a key leader in the fight for a more

limited and accountable federal government.

    U.S. Senate Republican Leader Mitch McConnell of Kentucky will serve as

Temporary Chairman of the Convention. On Nov. 15, 2006, McConnell was

unanimously elected Republican Leader in the 110th Congress by his

Republican colleagues, and serves as the 15th Republican Leader and second

Kentuckian to lead our Party in the U.S. Senate.

    The 2008 Republican National Convention Deputy Permanent Co-Chairs

include: Arizona Secretary of State Jan Brewer; former New Hampshire State

Chairman Steve Duprey; David Roederer of Iowa; U.S. Rep. Ileana

Ros-Lehtinen of Florida; Kathleen Shanahan of Florida; and Michigan

National Committeeman Chuck Yob.

    In addition, U.S. Rep. David Dreier of California will serve as

Parliamentarian; South Carolina Attorney General Henry McMaster will serve

as Chief Sergeant at Arms; former Massachusetts Republican State Chairwoman

Jean Inman will serve as Convention Secretary; and James S. Bookwalter of

Connecticut will serve as Chief Page.

    Convention Committee Chairmen include Mississippi Republican Party

Chairman Jim Herring, who will serve as Credentials Committee Chairman;

Georgia National Committeeman Alec Poitevint, who will serve as Convention

Rules Committee Chairman; and former State Chairwoman Jayne Millerick of

New Hampshire, who will serve as Chairman of the Committee on Permanent


    U.S. Representative Kevin McCarthy, of the 22nd Congressional District

of California, will serve as Chairman of the Convention Committee on

Resolutions ("Platform Committee") and U.S. Senator Richard Burr of North

Carolina will serve as Platform Committee Co-Chairman.

    These newly named officers will join current Convention officers in

overseeing the 2008 Convention proceedings, RNC Co-Chair and National

Committeewoman of Ohio Jo Ann Davidson, who serves as Chairman of the

Committee on Arrangements; Illinois National Committeeman Bob Kjellander

who serves as Vice Chairman of the Committee on Arrangements; California

National Committeeman Tim Morgan, who as Treasurer of the National

Committee serves as Treasurer of the Convention; and Blake Hall, National

Committeeman of Idaho, who as General Counsel of the RNC serves as General

Counsel of the Convention.

    Paid for by the Republican National Committee.

    Not authorized by any candidate or candidate's committee.

Major Newsire & Press Release Distribution with Basic Starting at only $19 and Complete OTCBB / Financial Distribution only $89

Get Unlimited Organic Website Traffic to your Website now offers Organic Lead Generation & Traffic Solutions

Blake Masterson

Freelance Writer, Journalist and Father of 5

Related Articles

Back to top button