Business News

New Level II Trauma Center to be Accredited in Pennsylvania

2008-08-04 06:00:00

New Level II Trauma Center to be Accredited in Pennsylvania

    MECHANICSBURG, Pa., Aug. 4 /EMWNews/ -- Level II Trauma

Center Accreditation status has been granted to one additional hospital in

Pennsylvania for the period from October 1, 2008 through September 30,


    Geisinger Wyoming Valley Medical Center, Wilkes Barre, PA

    The Pennsylvania Trauma Systems Foundation (PTSF) is a non-profit

corporation recognized by the Emergency Medical Services Act (Act 1985-45).

The PTSF is the organization responsible for accrediting trauma centers in

the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. It has been reviewing and surveying

applicant hospitals since May of 1986.

    Trauma centers are hospitals with resources immediately available to

provide efficient surgical intervention to reduce the likelihood of death

or permanent disability to injured patients. Accredited trauma centers must

be continuously prepared to treat the most serious life threatening and

disabling injuries. They are not intended to replace the traditional

hospital and its emergency department for minor injuries.

    In Pennsylvania there are three levels of trauma centers. Level I

trauma centers require trauma research, a surgical residency program, and

an annual volume of 650 major patients per year. A level II trauma center

meets the same high level of care, but does not require the research and

residency components, and volume requirements are 350 major trauma patients

per year. Level III trauma centers are smaller community hospitals which do

not require a minimum volume of trauma patients. Their focus is to

stabilize severe trauma in preparation for transport to a higher level

trauma center as well as care for patients with moderate trauma. They do

not need neurosurgical resources. Level I and II trauma centers can also be

categorized as either Adult Trauma Centers or Pediatric Trauma Centers. On

October 1, 2008 all trauma centers previously referred to as Adult Level I

Trauma Centers with Additional Qualifications in Pediatric Trauma will be

titled Adult Level I Centers and Pediatric Level II trauma centers.

    Each trauma center regardless of its level is an integral component of

the emergency medical services system. The EMS system assures appropriate

patient care management from the time of injury to treatment at a local

hospital and/or trauma center and through the rehabilitative phase of care.

Major Newsire & Press Release Distribution with Basic Starting at only $19 and Complete OTCBB / Financial Distribution only $89

Get Unlimited Organic Website Traffic to your Website now offers Organic Lead Generation & Traffic Solutions

Blake Masterson

Freelance Writer, Journalist and Father of 5

Related Articles

Back to top button